Review of City of Bones

3

City_of_Bones

 

TITLE: City Of Bones (Mortal Instruments #1)

AUTHOR: Cassandra Clare

SERIES: Mortal Instruments

GENRE:  Fantasy – Paranormal

SOURCE: Library

 

PEEK – A – BOO

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

[Source: Goodreads] 

RATINGS:

button iconbutton icon

MY TAKE ON C o B:

If you ask me truly, I am at loss of words. And I am wondering myself?? Was it bad? No! Was it good, then? No, not that either…

The thing is- The book didn’t really impress me much. I really had read and heard lot about the series before starting it and because of that maybe, I had expected too much. It just couldn’t hook me. But then it’s not in me to keep a book unfinished – so I did read it completely. And good that I did – as it was only because of the astonishing end that I read the second book. But a shocking end cannot cover up the shortcomings of other parts in the book. So let me tell what I liked and disliked in the book.

Before I go further, I would like to say that these are just my personal opinions about the book.

LIKES:

The book has an easy language. The plot has been laid in the world which we can relate with and is interwoven with fantastic mystic beings. The whole story paces at an adequate speed.

The dialogues and banter among the characters are funny and quite amusing. Magical runes painted on the body and blessed weapons having angel names provide freshness to the whole plot.

The revelation lying at the end really catches you by surprise – most unexpected, I must say. Nobody could see that coming. It was this particular twist, which compelled me to read the next part of the series [Oops! Why am I repeating this again and again?]

Anyways, the part of the series, which caught my attention the most, was that the clothes of the characters were very normal. The clothes described were simple, torn, having holes, dirty. I really liked that… [Seriously, I loved hole in the elbow, torn cuffs x)]. Of course you can’t be spick and span when you are a warrior.

And that’s all what I liked in the book.

DISLIKES:

There was too much of everything. I mean, come on!!! Were Shadowhunters and Mundane not enough that you had to include every other fantasy creature- from angels to demons, werewolves to vampires, warlocks to faerie and many many more. Personally, I like to have few characters in a story line. Too many just spoil the charm. Perhaps many may not agree with me, but then it’s my opinion 🙂

I felt the emotions were not played too well. In the book, Clary’s mom disappears quite early, but there is a lack of desperation in Clary to search her mom. I mean, if somebody’s mom disappears one fine day, that person will blindly search for her, instead of having thoughts on the other character being smarter, visiting greenhouses, dressing for party [Pulling my hair]. Though some of you may point out that the story track shows the search; but I feel the author couldn’t provide the feel of the tension, the anxiety, the sorrow, the restlessness in Clary while searching her mom.

Then there is character development. The villain didn’t feel too villainous to me. I mean, he looks more like a rebel than a really really bad guy. Instead of doing really bad stuff, he wastes his time debating, telling stories of past… Seriously!!! [Rolling my eyes]

The narration of the story from a third point of view didn’t allow me to know, what’s going on in the minds of the characters. It’s not that I have problem with stories having third point of view… It’s just that the narration wasn’t having depth while expressing the feelings of the characters, thereby not allowing me to connect with them as I wanted to.

One character which I felt was totally mistreated in the story was Simon. Almost in the whole book, he is treated as an underdog. His character sketch is very unbalanced. Some parts he has been shown having sharp tongue as well as sharp thinking, for instance – the time when he bursts inside and kills the demon by shattering the roof glass with his arrow; and in some parts he has been shown taking insults from all the shadow hunters but still sticking around. I mean, it’s quite confusing.

To conclude, the book is one time read. If you ask me honestly, I would say the second part has much more weightage compared to this… But as it is well said – to reach the end we need to start from the beginning- the book has to be read to understand the rest.

 

Leave a Reply

