First on Fridays – The Selection

1

The beginning of weekends brings along fresh burst of energy. People plan to utilize their weekends in the way they love the most. What more do you expect from a voracious reader than to start a new book. And that’s the point of my bookish meme.

First on Fridays is a weekly bookish meme, created and hosted by Preeti’s Panorama. Everyone is welcome to join.

The rules are very simple:

  • Every Friday, grab a book [can be an e-read or paperback].
  • Share its first two or three paragraphs along with the book’s title and cover.
  • On the basis of the paragraphs/excerpt, just tell whether you would like to read it or not? One or two sentences will be enough. If you want to explain more, it would be lovely!!

I just request that you link back to ‘Preeti’s Panorama’ on your own ‘First on Fridays’ post. You can share your comments if you do not have a blog. 

Have fun with it and enjoy the world of books.

the-selection

When we got the letter in the post, my mother was ecstatic. She had already decided that all our problems were solved, gone forever. The big hitch in her brilliant plan was me. I didn’t think I was particularly disobedient daughter, but this was where I drew the line. 

I didn’t want to be royalty. And I didn’t want to be a One. I didn’t even want to try.

I hid in my room, the only place to avoid the chattering of our full house, trying to come up with an argument that would sway her. So far, I had a solid collection of my honest opinions… I didn’t think there was a single one she would listen to.

I couldn’t avoid her much longer. It was approaching dinner time, and as the oldest child left in the house, cooking duties fell on me. I pulled myself out of bed and walked into the snake pit.

 

Do these lines entice you enough to make the book to be your First on Friday or not?

 

Hmmm… Something inside me says this is a kind of Cindrella story… The paragraphs tell me about some letter received and then the word ‘Royalty’ is used… There is  also term like ‘A One’ which gives an inkling that the mother wants the daughter to do something with the letter but the daughter isn’t interested. It’s sounding more like a ‘Chick Lit.’. 

Come to think of- it doesn’t sound so bad. After reading a lot of  kick ass action and fantasy, this book can provide me a break. A light read this weekend. 🙂 

So, why not.. Let me try this as First on Friday. okay-lets do it.png

Leave a Reply

