Aside

First on Friday – Marked

1

The beginning of weekends brings along fresh burst of energy. People plan to utilize their weekends in the way they love the most. What more do you expect from a voracious reader than to start a new book. And that’s the point of my bookish meme.

First on Fridays is a weekly bookish meme, created and hosted by Preeti’s Panorama. Everyone is welcome to join.

The rules are very simple:

  • Every Friday, grab a book [can be an e-read or paperback].
  • Share its first two or three paragraphs along with the book’s title and cover.
  • On the basis of the paragraphs/excerpt, just tell whether you would like to read it or not? One or two sentences will be enough. If you want to explain more, it would be lovely!!

I just request that you link back to ‘Preeti’s Panorama’ on your own ‘First on Fridays’ post. You can share your comments if you do not have a blog. 

Have fun with it and enjoy the world of books.

 

Marked

Just when I thought my day couldn’t get any worse, I saw the dead guy standing next to my locker. Kayla was talking non-stop in her usual K- babble, and she didn’t even notice him. At first. Actually, now that I think about it, no one else noticed him until he spoke, which is, tragically, more evidence of my freakish inability to fit in.

‘No, but Zoey, I swear to God, Heath didn’t get that drunk after the game. You really shouldn’t be so hard on him.’

‘Yeah,’ I said absently. ‘Sure.’ Then I coughed. Again. I felt like crap. I must be coming down with what Mr.Wise, my more-than-slightly-insane AP biology teacher, called the Teenage Plague.

If I died, would it get me out of my geometry test tomorrow? One could only hope.

‘Zoey, please. Are you even listening? I think he only had like four- I dunno – maybe six beers, and maybe like three shots. But that’s totally beside the point. He probably wouldn’t even have had hardly any if your stupid parents hadn’t made you go home right after the game.’

Do these lines entice you enough to make the book to be your First on Friday or not?

This is definitely NOT going to be in my First on Friday list. I didn’t like these lines so much… Not very tempting. Added to that, the dead guy standing- that too in the first line itself!!! [made the alarm bells in my head go haywire.] Just can’t imagine what will pop out in the next paragraphs… Zombies?? Evil Spirits?? 

Popped my excitement bubble then and there 😦 . I am okay with fantasy creatures and stuff but dead guys… ummm… Nope. Never. 

Perhaps I am wrong. Perhaps the book turns out something totally different than what I am expecting. Perhaps I may read it in future… But before taking that plunge I would first consult others who have read this book.

For now, I cannot waste my precious Fridays to start a book which do not appeal to me at a first glance.

This is so NOT First on Friday for me. Nope

Let me know what you think of this book? Would love to hear from you all 🙂

Leave a Reply

