First on Friday – Daughter of the Pirate King

First on Fridays is a weekly bookish meme, created and hosted by Preeti’s Panorama.

The rules are very simple:

  • Every Friday, grab a book [can be an e-read or paperback].
  • Share its first two or three paragraphs along with the book’s title and cover.
  • On the basis of the paragraphs/excerpt, just tell whether you would like to read it or not? One or two sentences will be enough.

I just request that you link back to ‘Preeti’s Panorama’ on your own ‘First on Fridays’ post. You can share your comments if you do not have a blog. 

Have fun with it and enjoy the world of books.

1

We’re outnumbered. Outgunned. Seven of my men lie dead on their backs. Two more jumped overboard as soon as they saw the black flag of the Night Farer on the horizon.

Deserters. They’re the most cowardly filth. They deserve whatever fate comes to them. Whether they tire and drown or get claimed by the sea life.

Steel twangs through the air. The ship rocks from the blasts of cannons. We cannot hold much longer.

“Two more down, Captain,” Mandsy, my temporary first mate, says from where she peeks through the trapdoor.

“I should be up there, shoving steel between ribs,” I say, “not hiding like some helpless whelp.”

“A little patience,” she reminds me. “If we’re to survive this, you need to stay put.”

“Survive?” I ask, offended.

“Let me rephrase. If we’re to succeed, you really shouldn’t be seen performing impressive feats with the sword.”

“But maybe if I just killed a few of them…” I say more to myself.

“You know we can’t risk that,” she says. Then she adds abruptly, “More men have boarded the ship. I think they’re headed this way.”

Finally. “Give the order to surrender.”

“Aye, Captain.” She ascends the rest of the steps leading to the deck.

“And don’t get yourself killed!” I hiss after her.

She nods before traveling through the trapdoor.

Don’t get killed, I say again in my head. Mandsy is one of only three I trust on this ship. She’s a good gal, very bright. Optimistic and a good voice of reason, which I desperately needed during our voyage. She volunteered to come, along with two other girls from my real crew. I shouldn’t have allowed them to join me, but I needed their help keeping these worthless men in line. Life these last few weeks would have been so much easier if I could have had my crew on this venture.

“Lay down your arms!”

Pirate

If you are a die-hard fan of ‘Pirates of Caribbean’ movie series (as I am), you would definitely be interested in reading this novel.

In the first few paragraphs, it is clear that the protagonist is a girl who has been sent on this voyage by her pirate father.

A pirate’s daughter who is being not allowed to show her skills in swordsmanship and has been asked to remain in hiding… Hmmm… sounds pretty fishy!!! Parts of the conversation hints that there is much more behind this voyage than what it seems… and I am too curious to find out what it is!!!

So, yeah… It is definitely First on Friday for me.

What about you all guys? Do you also love Pirate stories?

 What are you reading this weekend?

Let me know your thoughts in the comment section below

 

4 thoughts on “First on Friday – Daughter of the Pirate King

    1. Ha Ha.. Nice to meet you Pirate Lover!!!
      And Great choice of books!!!… The book thief and Nevernight have been in my TBR list… but I just get distracted with other books 😉
      Anyhow, I will be eagerly waiting to read your take on these 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

